Navigation:  Business Operations > System Configuration >

Sql Backup

Training Manuals Alphabetical Function List Back Print this Topic Previous topicOne level upNext topic
Show/Hide Hidden Text

On this tab the following fields can be viewed:

 

hmtoggle_plus1Apply

The user must have a security profile linked to the function System Configuration with an access allowed of Inquire and the System Configuration SQL Backup function with an access allowed of Change. The "Apply" button is enabled when any of the selectable settings are changed.

 

When the "Apply" button is clicked the Scheduled Jobs table is updated and the scheduled task settings will be changed according to the Scheduled Jobs setting.

 

If the task has not been scheduled previously the task will be scheduled according to the settings in the table.

 

WARNING!

 

The operating system account under which the System SQL user executes the XP_CMSHELL must have full control to the share where the database is to be dumped.

 

In the case of NT, pay special attention to the permissions for the share and on the actual directory itself.

 

The disk space used per database dump may fill up quickly which may cause future dumps to fail.

 

After the successful completion of the task, the files, which exceed the number of retention days setting, will be deleted.

 

Before every SQL Backup commences, a check is performed to determine whether the previous SQL Backup failed.  System mail, regarding the error(s) is sent to the users with change rights on the "SQL Backup" and "Log Backup" screens.

 

The removal of SQL Backup and Log Backup files that are past the number of retention days is now only done after a successful SQL Backup has been completed.  Multiple database files can be dumped to the same unc path, as the removal of files is done per database.

 

Whenever an error occurs during a SQL Backup and Log Backup run, System mail is sent to users with change rights to the "SQL Backup" and "Log Backup" screen.  About five errors cannot be trapped programmatically, as SQL Server terminates the running process immediately, for example, when the backup path is not available/accessible.

 

Administrators must still monitor these two scheduled tasks through the System itself, since all errors will be reported correctly in the history lists.

 

 

Should the user have change rights, the actual settings for the scheduled task are Synchronized with the Scheduled Jobs table settings (I.E. what was initially shown).  Should the user not have change rights and the actual settings for the scheduled task are not in synchronization with the Scheduled Jobs table settings, an error message will be displayed and the scheduled task will not be synchronized.

 

The same synchronization action, as described above is also performed when the SQL Backup tab is initially displayed.

 

Due to the above mentioned synchronization, no changes should be made directly to the scheduled tasks via the SQL Enterprise Manager application other than to add totally unrelated tasks

 

I.E.

Tasks that do not perform System backups, log offloads and log transactions OR

Tasks that do not perform System backups, log offloads and log transactions but that do not execute the System_Dump_Database, System_Dump_Transaction_Logs, Log_Transactions, MRP_Main_Control and EIS_Run_Scheduled_Tasks stored procedures.

hmtoggle_plus1Backup Path (Unc)

It is the path where the database dumps and log dumps must be stored.

 

The path is not resolved when applying the changes, only elementary checking is done.  The user needs to check the error messages in the  history list, for example, "Access Denied", "Path Not Found" when an invalid path has been entered.

 

The operating system account under which SQL Server is running must have access to the setting specified.

 

When the day check boxes change state or the number of retention days is changed and a valid backup path has been entered, an estimate of the space needed versus the calculated space is displayed in the message bar.

 

If the space needed is greater than the available space on the share, the message is displayed as an error to attract the users attention.

hmtoggle_plus1Enabled

When checked it enables the scheduling of the dumping of the database, according to the time / day settings in the Scheduled Jobs table.

 

When unchecked, the task will be visible in Enterprise Manager, but will not executed on the selected time(s)/day(s).  All the selectable options will also be disabled.

hmtoggle_plus1Retention Period (Days)

It is the number of days for which the database dumps, and log dumps must be kept before being deleted by the system.  Days regarded as  valid are days between 2, up to and including 255 days.

 

When the Day, check boxes change state or the number of retention days is changed and a valid backup path has been entered, an estimate  of the space needed versus the calculated space is displayed in the message bar.

 

If the space needed is greater than the available space on the share, the message is displayed as an error to attract the users attention.

hmtoggle_plus1Run At

It is the time at which the backup task must be executed (anytime within a 24 hour cycle can be used).

hmtoggle_plus1Run Now

When the "Run Now" button, is clicked, the scheduled task is synchronized with the settings in Scheduled Jobs.

 

If the logged on user has change rights, the task settings will be updated.  If the logged on user does not possess change rights and error message will be displayed.

 

If no error occurred and the task is not already running, it will be activated regardless of the Enabled, Day, and Time settings.

 

Lastly, the history list will be updated.

hmtoggle_plus1Sql Backup History

Displays the status, last run, duration and message for the scheduled job(s).

 

Status

It is the completion Status of the scheduled job.  If the task was unsuccessfully completed, the status will be displayed in red.

 

Last Run

It is the date/time the event was completed, and displays the last date on which the SQL Backup was executed.  It is sorted in descending order.

 

Duration

Displays the amount of time needed to complete the task.

 

Message

It is a description of the outcome of the task, if any and is usually error information.